Cost and ROI · 11 min read

AI Employee for Small Business: 2026 Costs

What an AI employee for small business costs in 2026: Marblism, Sintra and Lindy prices, what each meters, and what owners really delegate.

An AI employee for small business is a monthly software subscription that runs writing, marketing, inbox and support tasks for a law firm, dealership, restaurant or real estate team against a metered allowance of hours or credits. On the three pricing pages we read on September 29, 2026, list prices ran from $15.60 a month (a promotional annual rate) to $199.99 per user a month. It is not yet a hire: the Federal Reserve's March 2026 small business survey found that 83 percent of firms using AI apply it to writing or marketing, and only 7 percent have fully integrated it.

The pitch says employee and the invoice says credits. This post compares Marblism, Sintra and Lindy on what each one meters, sets their named roles beside what small firms actually delegate, and closes with five questions to ask before you buy. What changed: the vendor prices here were read in September 2026, the Federal Reserve figures come from fall 2025 fieldwork published in March 2026, and the Census Bureau figures come from a May 2026 story.

What an AI employee subscription buys: hours, credits or seats

Each vendor sells a different unit. Marblism meters hours of AI work, Sintra meters credits and helpers, and Lindy meters credits per seat. The table shows what the pricing pages listed on September 29, 2026, with a fourth column for the role Las Vegas owners ask us about most.

MarblismSintra (Sintra X)LindyPhone and scheduling assistant
Monthly billing$44 a month$48.50 on the 1 month plan (regular $97)Plus $29.99, Pro $99.99, Max $199.99 per userPriced by the tool you pick
Longer billing$24 a month billed yearly$23.60 on 3 months, $15.60 on 12 months (promotional, regular $97)Enterprise is custom pricedPriced by the tool you pick
What is metered50 hours of AI work a month, resets monthly250 credits a month; single helper $39 a month3,000, 15,000 or 35,000 credits per userCalls and bookings
Named rolesExecutive assistant, social media manager, lead generation, SEO writer, receptionist, website builder, legal assistant12 helpers, including customer support and social media managerAgents you configureOne job: answer, qualify, book
Answers a phone or books a calendarReceptionist listed as answering calls 24/7 and booking appointmentsNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageYes, by definition

Sources: Marblism pricing page, Sintra pricing page and Lindy pricing page, all read 2026-09-29.

Dividing price by the meter gives a rough unit cost. Marblism at $44 over 50 hours is $0.88 per hour of AI work on monthly billing, and $24 over 50 hours is $0.48 billed yearly. Sintra X at $48.50 over 250 credits is about 19 cents a credit on the one month plan, and $15.60 over 250 credits is about 6 cents on the 12 month plan. Lindy Plus works out to about 1 cent a credit ($29.99 over 3,000), Pro to about 0.67 cents ($99.99 over 15,000) and Max to about 0.57 cents ($199.99 over 35,000).

Those unit costs look precise and are not comparable. None of the three pages publishes how many tasks an hour or a credit buys, so the working capacity is not disclosed. A Marblism hour, a Sintra credit and a Lindy credit are three currencies with no posted exchange rate, and the only honest comparison is a trial week of your own tasks.

Billing commitment is the second hidden variable. Marblism billed yearly is $288 up front ($24 times 12) against $528 for twelve monthly payments ($44 times 12), a $240 difference. Sintra's 12 month plan comes to $187.20 a year ($15.60 times 12), but the page labels it a promotion off a regular $97 a month, which would be $1,164 over a year. Marblism's 7 day money back guarantee is the only refund term in what we read, so size any yearly bet before making it.

Most small firms delegate writing, and 7 percent have integrated AI

The Federal Reserve Banks' 2026 Report on Employer Firms, dated March 3, 2026, surveyed small employer firms from September 3 to November 14, 2025 and drew 6,525 responses. Forty six percent said the business or its employees currently use AI, 15 percent planned to start within a year, and one third had no plans. Among users, the tasks form a ladder that falls off once work leaves the writing desk.

Rung or groupShareSource
Writing or marketing83% of AI usersFederal Reserve, March 2026
Individual productivity61% of AI usersFederal Reserve, March 2026
Planning or analysis51% of AI usersFederal Reserve, March 2026
Partially integrated AI44% of AI usersFederal Reserve, March 2026
Fully integrated AI7% of AI usersFederal Reserve, March 2026
Firms with 250 or more employees using AI37%Census BTOS, May 2026
Firms with 100 to 249 employees using AI32%Census BTOS, May 2026
Firms with 4 or fewer employees using AIUnder 20%Census BTOS, May 2026

Sources: the Federal Reserve 2026 Report on Employer Firms and the Census Bureau story Large Firms With at Least 20 Employees Biggest AI Users.

Read the ladder against the bundles. Marblism's roster leans on the top rung: social media manager, SEO writer, lead generation. Sintra's single helpers named on its page are customer support and social media. That fits what owners already do, and it is also the rung where a general chatbot you may already pay for competes hardest.

The same survey shows why owners keep buying. Seventy one percent of users reported higher productivity, 39 percent better quality and 31 percent higher sales, while most saw no change in labor costs. The top challenges were accuracy (46 percent) and adapting tools to business needs (43 percent), and that second one is exactly the gap an AI employee claims to close.

The Census story, published May 2026, uses the Business Trends and Outlook Survey for December 2025 through May 2026, which samples all employer businesses. It puts overall AI use between 17 and 20 percent, with 20 to 23 percent expecting to use it within six months. It reads lower than the Federal Reserve because the sample is broader and the question differs, not because either is wrong.

The size split is the useful part for a small shop: fewer than 20 percent of firms with four or fewer employees use AI, against 37 percent of firms with 250 or more. Information (39.7 percent) and finance (33.9 percent) lead by sector, and retail trade lags at about 14 percent.

Two Las Vegas shops, two different answers

Take a four person law firm first, the size band where the Census found fewer than 20 percent of firms using AI. Its load is intake calls, follow-up letters and a website that needs posts. Marblism's yearly plan at $24 a month covers a legal assistant, an SEO writer and a receptionist under one price. Assume a partner bills $300 an hour: if the plan frees one billable hour a month, that is $3,600 a year against $288 spent.

The catch is the cap. The page lists one 50 hour monthly cap beside unlimited team members, which reads as a shared pool, so confirm that before four people draw on it. Assume 22 working days a month, and 50 hours is about 2.3 hours of AI work a day for the whole office, with no stated rule for how a 24/7 receptionist call draws on it.

Every draft a legal assistant writes still needs attorney review, which is why accuracy topping the Federal Reserve challenge list at 46 percent matters here. If intake touches medical records, Lindy's custom priced Enterprise tier is the only offer of the three that lists HIPAA compliance with a signed BAA in what we read.

Now take a 40 person dealership where six service advisors would each want an agent. Lindy prices per user: six Plus seats cost $179.94 a month ($29.99 times 6) and carry 18,000 credits in total, while six Pro seats cost $599.94 a month, or $7,199.28 a year. Marblism would cost $44 a month for the same six people because team members are unlimited, but its 50 hour cap works out to about 8.3 hours of AI work per advisor per month.

That is where the answer flips. Flat pricing wins while the work fits under the cap, and per seat pricing wins when volume grows with headcount, because Lindy's credits grow with each seat. Neither page says its agents write into a dealer management system's service schedule, which is the job that matters on a Monday morning. That is integration, the rung only 7 percent of AI users have reached, and it usually belongs in a business automation project rather than a roster subscription.

The phone and the calendar are where the roster thins out

Of the three, only Marblism's pricing page names a receptionist, described as answering calls 24/7 and booking appointments. The Sintra and Lindy pricing pages, in what we read, do not state phone answering or calendar booking. For a restaurant taking reservations, a dealership booking service or a brokerage setting showings, the phone is the front door, and it is the role a writing bundle leaves out.

A listed receptionist is not the same as a working one. Before trusting it, ask what the pricing page does not say: does it take your existing number, can it transfer a live caller to a person, which calendar does it write into, and what happens when a caller goes off script. The Federal Reserve found 43 percent of AI users struggle to adapt tools to their business, and a phone line is where that struggle becomes a lost booking.

Some work should stay with a person whatever the bundle lists: refunds and comps, legal judgment, pricing exceptions and a guest who is already upset. Some work needs a build: reading and writing your reservation system, case management system or CRM with your own booking rules. That is the gap a custom AI assistant is meant to fill, and it is fair to test the cheaper bundle first.

Five questions to ask before buying any AI employee

Accuracy and adaptation are the two places an AI employee earns or loses its fee. These five questions put both on the table before a card is charged.

  1. What does one hour of AI work or one credit buy in the tasks I run every week? If the vendor cannot answer, a trial week has to.
  2. Is the allowance shared across my team or tied to each seat, and what happens when it runs out mid month?
  3. Is this a promotional price, and what is the regular price at renewal?
  4. Does it answer my existing phone number and write into my calendar or system of record, or does it hand me a draft to copy?
  5. Who reviews its work before a customer sees it, and how long does that review take?

A vendor that answers all five plainly has told you more than its pricing page. A vendor that answers none has told you to treat the first month as a paid test.

Where these numbers do not hold

Vendor prices change, and two of the three pages lean on promotions, so the figures here are true for September 29, 2026 and may not be at your renewal. The unit costs above divide price by a meter whose value is not disclosed, so they rank nothing until you measure capacity yourself.

The surveys are national. The Federal Reserve sample is small employer firms answering in fall 2025, and the Census sample is all employer businesses from December 2025 through May 2026, so neither is a Las Vegas figure and neither measures these three products. The facts we have give no Census figure for accommodation and food service, so do not read the retail 14 percent as a restaurant number.

This comparison also does not apply where a licensed person must sign off on the work regardless, or where volume is so low that an owner answering email at night costs less than any subscription plus the time to manage it. And if you already run a staffed front desk, the phone column matters less than the writing and follow-up work these bundles were built for.

Questions owners ask

How much does an AI employee cost for a small business?

On pricing pages read September 29, 2026, Marblism was $44 a month or $24 billed yearly, Sintra's 12 helper bundle ran $15.60 to $48.50 on promotional terms against a regular $97, and Lindy ran $29.99 to $199.99 per user. The price does not tell you capacity, because none of the three publishes how many tasks an hour or a credit buys.

Can an AI employee answer my business phone?

Of the three products compared here, only Marblism's pricing page lists a receptionist that answers calls 24/7 and books appointments. The Sintra and Lindy pricing pages do not state it. Before relying on any of them, test whether it takes your existing number, transfers a caller to a person, and writes into the calendar your staff already uses.

Will an AI employee replace my staff?

The evidence so far says no. In the Federal Reserve survey, most firms using AI saw no change in labor costs, even though 71 percent reported higher productivity. Most use it for writing and marketing, and only 7 percent have fully integrated it, so the realistic gain is hours handed back to the people you already have.

What to do this week

  1. Write down every repeating task for five working days and tag each one as writing, personal productivity, planning, or something that must touch your phone or booking system. The mix tells you whether a bundle fits at all.
  2. Start one trial on the plan with a refund window or the shortest billing term, and run only your highest volume task through it. At the end, record the hours or credits used and how many outputs needed fixing.
  3. Call your own business line after hours and try to book something. If nothing answers or books, that is the job to solve first, whether with a person, a bundled receptionist or a build.

If you want a second pair of eyes on that task log, our free 15-minute audit through business AI solutions is there when you are ready.

Drafted with AI assistance, researched, edited, and fact-checked by Elias Musleh on September 29, 2026.

More in Cost and ROI

/ FREE 15-MIN AUTOMATION AUDIT

Want this handled for you?

We build the automation, run it, and hand you the numbers. Book a fifteen minute call and we will tell you straight whether it is worth doing for your business.

Book your free audit

Prefer to skip the form? vendors@vegasbusinessai.com /702.773.8839